First, I have to give credit to Maria for telling me about this burger joint in the first place…I seem to have passed by the place on numerous occasions while passing through st. marks and somehow managed to never look in. Shame on me. Good thing we ended up here for this month’s MeetEaters.

Let me just say one thing: DEE-RiSH-US! I have to say that it’s one of my new faves for burgers in NYC, though I still have yet to tackle the many burger joints on this island. Knowing that this place has been around also leads me to ask myself, “Where have I been all this time?”

I say YES to Paul’s– to their meaty, 8-pounder that is cooked in a metal dome on a griddle so that you get the burger the way you want it (Mmmedium!). I ordered a plain cheeseburger with mozz on a toasted kaiser roll (which i heavily recommend so that you don’t have a soggy burger in your hands) and a side of yummy sweet potato fries…oooh let me tell you, i was a very happy camper. I didn’t feel nasty or weighed down by grease, and enjoyed the crumbly texture of the meat. That’s how a burger should be made!

Now, I’m not one to go into all the specifics and point out every little right and wrong– for me, if the food is good, the place is clean, and the service is friendly, you’ve got my vote. if you go over and beyond that, you’ll most likely get extra points and a better tip….which reminds me, MeetEaters, we have yet to decide on our how we are to critique these places. What did we decide on? Any suggestions? Well, I’ll make something up for now and give Paul’s 3 out of 4 forks (I shouldn’t have to pay extra for lettuce and tomato!)

Until the next bite,

🙂 B

P.S. Big shout out to Alan’s friend Ron who joined us as our honorary guest!

Paul’s Da Burger Joint: 131 2nd Avenue, New York, NY 10003 (at St. Mark’s Place); 212-529-3033; paulsburgers.com